How to choose a dog food: 2026 buying guide

Take our 30-second guide

5 questions, one tap each.

Short answer

A label's statement names a life stage: growth for a puppy, maintenance for an adult. Then match the size the maker names for it, and compare the calories per cup or can, the first animal ingredient and the analysis percentages as the label states them. We compare what the label and the maker state. We give no feeding or veterinary advice. If your dog has a health condition, ask your vet.

What does complete and balanced mean?

It means the label carries a nutritional adequacy statement. The statement names a life stage, and it says how the maker showed that the food meets it. AAFCO's model regulations for pet food give three allowed formats, and states adopt them. A statement comes in one of these forms:

  • Formulated. "(Name of product) is formulated to meet the nutritional levels established by the AAFCO Dog Food Nutrient Profiles for ____." Most foods in our finder use this form.
  • Feeding tests. "Animal feeding tests using AAFCO procedures substantiate that (Name of Product) provides complete and balanced nutrition for ____." Hill's Science Diet and two Purina Pro Plan puppy foods use this form here.
  • Comparable. "(Name of Product) provides complete and balanced nutrition for (...) and is comparable in nutritional adequacy to a product which has been substantiated using AAFCO feeding tests." None of the foods in our finder use this form.

The blank is the life stage: growth, maintenance (adult) or all life stages. Our age question follows it. Growth is a puppy, maintenance is an adult. A food is also listed for older dogs when its maker calls it senior, mature or aging, and that food has a maintenance statement too, so it shows for adults as well. We read the statement and the maker's words; a name that contains "Puppy" is not a growth statement.

AAFCO's model rules are not official regulations until a state adopts them, and a statement format is a fact about how adequacy was shown. It does not make one food better than another.

As of October 2026, 22 puppy foods and 34 adult foods are in our finder, and each card shows the statement's life stage and its basis.

See puppy foods · See adult foods

How do I read the large size dog growth line?

For a dog food that covers growth or all life stages, the model rules put one more phrase at the end of the statement: either "including growth of large size dogs (70 lb. or more as an adult)" or "except for growth of large size dogs (70 lb. or more as an adult)". Where a statement has no such phrase, we show the line as Not stated. Royal Canin's puppy foods, Blue Buffalo's large breed puppy recipe and several others in the finder say "including". Blue Buffalo's small breed puppy recipe, Orijen Six Fish and Victor Hi-Pro Plus say "except for". Hill's puppy foods carry no such phrase in the statement we read.

Our Large band is ours: about 50 lb or more as an adult (Medium is about 20 to 50 lb). The label's threshold is 70 lb. They are different numbers, so a dog of 55 lb is Large in our finder, and the label phrase speaks about dogs of 70 lb or more. Each card shows the maker's own weight range where the maker prints one.

See puppy foods for large dogs · Related list: Puppy foods whose label includes large size dog growth

Formulated, feeding tests or comparable: what is the difference?

All three formats, quoted above, let a maker say complete and balanced. The "AAFCO feeding tests" label is not a quality tier. We show the basis so you can read it on the label yourself.

In our finder, Hill's Science Diet and two Purina Pro Plan puppy foods state feeding tests on the food listed, and the other foods state the formulated format. See the foods whose label states feeding tests. When a page shows no statement in text, for example because it is only in a package image, we record nothing, since an image is not something we can quote.

How many calories are in a cup or a can?

The label gives calories per cup for dry food and per can (or tub) for wet food. We keep them as separate facts because a cup and a can are not the same amount of food. The calories on each card are the label's figures, shown as the maker states them.

A calorie figure helps you compare two dry foods, or two wet foods. It does not tell you how much to feed. The maker's feeding table on the pack does that for the food in your bag, and your vet can help for your dog.

Dry or wet?

Dry food is kibble; wet food comes in cans, tubs or trays. Percentages on the label are as-fed minimums or maximums, so a wet food shows a much lower crude protein number than a dry one because it contains water. Compare protein, fat and fiber between two dry foods or between two wet foods, not across.

Some makers' pages do not say whether a food is dry or wet; those foods show Not stated. Both are in the finder: 33 dry foods and 5 wet foods as of October 2026. Dry or wet is a preference in the finder, so the foods you prefer rank first and the rest stay visible.

How do I read the analysis and the first ingredient?

The label lists a minimum for crude protein and crude fat and a maximum for crude fiber and moisture. We label them "Crude protein, min", "Crude fat, min" and "Crude fiber, max". The first animal ingredient is the first animal-derived item in the ingredient list. A "by-product meal" or "meal" counts as that animal. The product name is not evidence of the first ingredient; the list is.

If a maker's page doesn't print an ingredient list in text, we show the first animal ingredient as not stated.

What size is my dog?

Makers describe size with words such as Small Breed, X-Small, or Large Breed, and some print an adult weight range. We follow the maker's words. Our bands are: Small, under about 20 lb as an adult; Medium, about 20 to 50 lb; Large, about 50 lb or more. Some makers name every breed size; those foods show under each size. Choose "Not sure" to see every food and read each card's weight range.

"Small Bites" and other kibble-size words say how big the pieces are, not what size dog the food is for, so we don't read them as a dog size.

See foods for small dogs · See foods for large dogs · Related list: Dog foods for large adult dogs

What has FDA said about grain-free foods?

Grains are a preference in the finder, last in the list. We record whether the maker's ingredient list names a grain, or the maker calls the recipe grain-free; where neither is on the page, we show Not stated. We do not rank grain-free foods up or down unless you choose the grains preference.

In July 2018 FDA announced it was investigating reports of dilated cardiomyopathy (DCM) in dogs eating certain pet foods. FDA's update of December 23, 2022 says of the adverse event reports: "by themselves, they do not supply sufficient data to establish a causal relationship with reported product(s)." The same update says: "FDA does not intend to release further public updates until there is meaningful new scientific information to share." Read the full FDA page, current as of December 23, 2022. We compare what the label and the maker state. We give no feeding or veterinary advice. If your dog has a health condition, ask your vet.

What do we leave out, and why?

Our finder leaves out prescription and veterinary diets, supplements, raw, fresh-refrigerated, frozen and freeze-dried complete foods, toppers and mixers, and variety packs. That is our selection rule. It is not a claim about those products. FDA's guidance for dog and cat food diets sold for medical conditions (CPG Sec. 690.150) is the reason we do not list diets sold under a vet's direction: such foods are marketed for a condition, and this site makes no claims about conditions.

How do makers describe age and weight?

Makers do not use one scale. Most Royal Canin foods print an age and an adult weight; Small Adult and Medium Aging 10+ print neither on the pages we read. Large Adult says "from 56 to 100 lb" and "Over 15 months old", X-Small Adult says "10 months to 8 years weighing up to 8 lbs", Small Puppy says "up to 10 months old with an expected adult weight of 9-22 lbs", and the Aging foods say "Over 12 years old" or "Over 8 years old". Blue Buffalo, Hill's, Orijen, Taste of the Wild, Canidae, Diamond Naturals and Victor print no weight range on the pages we read; where they name a size, it is in the product name or a breed-size field. Purina's wet food is named "Adult 7+" and states no dog size.

We record each number the maker prints, and show it as a range row on the card: "Adult weight, per maker" and "Age, per maker". Where a maker prints only one end, such as "up to 8 lb", the card shows only that end. When a maker prints nothing, the card says so. We never fill in an age or a weight ourselves.

If your dog is near the edge of a band, for example 20 lb or 50 lb, choose "Not sure" for size and read each card's range against your dog's weight.

What do the price lines on a card mean?

Where the maker's own US store sells the food in the size we link, the card shows that store's price and the day we checked it, and says Amazon's price may differ. Hill's and Purina sell the sizes we link on their stores, and Royal Canin's store shows prices for most of its dry foods. Where a maker's page showed a food out of stock or without a price on October 28, 2026 (four Royal Canin foods), the card says what the page shows. Blue Buffalo, Orijen, Taste of the Wild, Diamond Naturals and Victor have no cart on the pages we read: their pages or their Where to Buy pages point to retailers, so the card says the food is not sold on the maker's US store. Canidae's pages link to local retailers and show no price, so the card says the maker's page shows no price. We never show another store's price or another size's price.

Which makers are in the finder?

The finder lists Royal Canin, Blue Buffalo, Hill's Science Diet, Purina Pro Plan, Orijen, Taste of the Wild, Canidae, Diamond Naturals and Victor foods. A food is listed only when its maker's own page prints the adequacy statement in text we can quote and we can match the exact product and bag size to a listing. Makers whose pages show the statement only in a package image or behind a tab we can't read are not listed, because an image is not something we can quote. That is a limit of this finder, not a view of those foods.

Common mistakes

  • Reading "Puppy" in a name as the life stage. The statement is what counts.
  • Comparing dry and wet percentages. A wet food's lower percentages reflect water.
  • Assuming the large size band is the label's. Ours is about 50 lb; the label's is 70 lb.
  • Choosing by the format of the statement alone. It says how adequacy was shown, not which food suits your dog.

Picks lists in this category

FAQ

What does a food's price on this site mean?

It is the price on the maker's own US store for the size we link, shown only where the store sells that size. Where it doesn't, we show what the maker's site says instead. Amazon's price may differ.

Do you show recalls?

No. We do not show recall status on any page. FDA lists recalls on its Recalls & Withdrawals page.

Does the first ingredient matter more than the rest?

It tells you which animal ingredient the maker lists first. It does not tell you the amount, and it does not tell you the food suits your dog.

How we chose and sources

Facts come from each maker's own US product page: Royal Canin, Blue Buffalo, Hill's Science Diet, Purina Pro Plan, Orijen, Taste of the Wild, Canidae, Diamond Naturals and Victor. Label rules come from AAFCO's model regulations for pet food, FDA's page on its investigation into certain diets, and FDA's CPG Sec. 690.150 guidance. 22 puppy foods and 34 adult foods are in the finder as of October 2026.

Written with AI assistance from manufacturer specifications; reviewed and approved by the site owner. We don't test products hands-on. How we choose.

Written with AI assistance from manufacturer specifications and reviewed before publishing in October 2026. We don't test products hands-on.

Ready to narrow it down?

Answer a few questions and see the dog foods that match your answers.

Take our 30-second guide

5 questions, one tap each.

By whichproduct.app · AI-assisted, approved by the site ownerAs an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.We report what each manufacturer states and make no health or safety claims.