Puppy foods whose label includes large size dog growth (2026)
Every food here is a puppy food whose adequacy statement says it covers growth including growth of large size dogs (70 lb. or more as an adult), in the label's own words. That is a fact about the statement, not a ranking. Listed alphabetically by maker, then by name; this is not a ranking. Specs checked October 28, 2026 on each maker's US site.
Selection criteria
- The label's adequacy statement for growth says it includes growth of large size dogs (70 lb. or more as an adult).
- The statement is for growth.
Specs checked on each maker's page.
The picks
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
✓ matches · – doesn't match · ? not stated by the maker
Blue Buffalo Life Protection Formula Large Breed Puppy Chicken & Brown Rice
- Complete and balanced forGrowth
- Growth of large size dogs (70 lb. or more as an adult)Included
- Basis of the statementFormulated to meet AAFCO profiles
- Calories385 kcal
- Crude protein, min26%
- Bag or pack size, linkedNot stated: Not stated by Blue Buffalo
- First animal ingredientNot stated: Not stated by Blue Buffalo
- Adult weight, per makerNot stated: Not stated by Blue Buffalo
Blue Buffalo's statement for this recipe reads "for growth, including growth of large size dogs (70 lbs. or more as an adult)".
Maker source: bluebuffalo.com
Canidae Pure Farm to Bowl Puppy Wild-Caught Salmon & Sweet Potato
- Complete and balanced forGrowth
- Growth of large size dogs (70 lb. or more as an adult)Included
- Basis of the statementFormulated to meet AAFCO profiles
- CaloriesNot stated: Not stated by Canidae
- Crude protein, min30%
- Bag or pack size, linkedNot stated: Not stated by Canidae
- First animal ingredientFish
- Adult weight, per makerNot stated: Not stated by Canidae
Canidae's growth statement for this food includes growth of large size dogs (70 lb. or more as an adult), in the label's words.
See more(paid link)Canidae lists it without a price on its US site · checked
Amazon's price may differ.
Maker source: canidae.com
Royal Canin Large Puppy
- Complete and balanced forGrowth
- Growth of large size dogs (70 lb. or more as an adult)Included
- Basis of the statementFormulated to meet AAFCO profiles
- Calories349 kcal
- Crude protein, min28%
- Bag or pack size, linked17 lb
- First animal ingredientChicken
- Adult weight, per maker56–100 lb
Royal Canin prints the growth statement with "including growth of large size dogs (70 lb. or more as an adult)" and states the food is for large breed puppies with an adult weight of 56 to 100 lb.
Maker source: royalcanin.com
Royal Canin Large Puppy Thin Slices in Gravy
- Complete and balanced forGrowth
- Growth of large size dogs (70 lb. or more as an adult)Included
- Basis of the statementFormulated to meet AAFCO profiles
- Calories320 kcal
- Crude protein, min6.8%
- Bag or pack size, linked156 oz
- First animal ingredientChicken
- Adult weight, per makerfrom 56 lb
The statement for this wet food includes the large size phrase, and the maker states large breed puppies with an adult weight over 56 lb.
See more(paid link)Royal Canin lists it without a price on its US site · checked
Amazon's price may differ.
Maker source: royalcanin.com
Royal Canin Medium Puppy
- Complete and balanced forGrowth
- Growth of large size dogs (70 lb. or more as an adult)Included
- Basis of the statementFormulated to meet AAFCO profiles
- Calories410 kcal
- Crude protein, min30%
- Bag or pack size, linked30 lb
- First animal ingredientChicken
- Adult weight, per maker23–55 lb
Royal Canin's growth statement for this food includes growth of large size dogs (70 lb. or more as an adult), in the label's words.
Maker source: royalcanin.com
Royal Canin Medium Puppy Thin Slices in Gravy
- Complete and balanced forGrowth
- Growth of large size dogs (70 lb. or more as an adult)Included
- Basis of the statementFormulated to meet AAFCO profiles
- Calories356 kcal
- Crude protein, min6.8%
- Bag or pack size, linked156 oz
- First animal ingredientChicken
- Adult weight, per maker23–55 lb
Royal Canin's growth statement for this food includes growth of large size dogs (70 lb. or more as an adult), in the label's words.
Maker source: royalcanin.com
Royal Canin Small Puppy
- Complete and balanced forGrowth
- Growth of large size dogs (70 lb. or more as an adult)Included
- Basis of the statementFormulated to meet AAFCO profiles
- Calories349 kcal
- Crude protein, min29%
- Bag or pack size, linked14 lb
- First animal ingredientChicken
- Adult weight, per maker9–22 lb
Royal Canin's statement for Small Puppy also includes the large size phrase, and the maker gives an adult weight of 9 to 22 lb.
Maker source: royalcanin.com
Royal Canin X-Small Puppy
- Complete and balanced forGrowth
- Growth of large size dogs (70 lb. or more as an adult)Included
- Basis of the statementFormulated to meet AAFCO profiles
- Calories405 kcal
- Crude protein, min29%
- Bag or pack size, linked14 lb
- First animal ingredientChicken
- Adult weight, per makerup to 8 lb
Royal Canin's growth statement for this food includes growth of large size dogs (70 lb. or more as an adult), in the label's words.
Maker source: royalcanin.com
Royal Canin X-Small Puppy Thin Slices in Gravy
- Complete and balanced forGrowth
- Growth of large size dogs (70 lb. or more as an adult)Included
- Basis of the statementFormulated to meet AAFCO profiles
- Calories80 kcal
- Crude protein, min6.5%
- Bag or pack size, linked72 oz
- First animal ingredientChicken
- Adult weight, per makerup to 8 lb
The statement for this wet food includes the large size phrase, and the maker states an adult weight up to 8 lb.
See more(paid link)Royal Canin lists it without a price on its US site · checked
Amazon's price may differ.
Maker source: royalcanin.com
Not sure which one?
Answer a few questions and see the dog foods that match your answers.
Compare these foods
Each value is what the manufacturer states on the linked page. "Not stated" means we have no figure from the maker's page for this food.
| Food | Complete and balanced for | Growth of large size dogs (70 lb. or more as an adult) | Calories | Crude protein, min |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Blue Buffalo Life Protection Formula Large Breed Puppy Chicken & Brown Rice | Growth | Included | 385 kcal per cup | 26.0% |
| Canidae Pure Farm to Bowl Puppy Wild-Caught Salmon & Sweet Potato | Growth | Included | Not stated | 30.0% |
| Royal Canin Large Puppy | Growth | Included | 349 kcal per cup | 28.0% |
| Royal Canin Large Puppy Thin Slices in Gravy | Growth | Included | 320 kcal per can | 6.8% |
| Royal Canin Medium Puppy | Growth | Included | 410 kcal per cup | 30.0% |
| Royal Canin Medium Puppy Thin Slices in Gravy | Growth | Included | 356 kcal per can | 6.8% |
| Royal Canin Small Puppy | Growth | Included | 349 kcal per cup | 29.0% |
| Royal Canin X-Small Puppy | Growth | Included | 405 kcal per cup | 29.0% |
| Royal Canin X-Small Puppy Thin Slices in Gravy | Growth | Included | 80 kcal per can | 6.5% |
Calories are per cup for dry food and per can for wet food, as each label states. Percentages are as-fed minimums and can't be compared between dry and wet food.
How to pick between these
- If your puppy will be 56 lb or more as an adult → the Royal Canin Large Puppy (dry) and the Royal Canin Large Puppy Thin Slices in Gravy (wet) both state that range.
- If you want the label phrase for large size dogs on a food from another maker → Blue Buffalo and Canidae are the ones here.
- If your puppy will be under 22 lb as an adult → the Royal Canin Small Puppy states 9 to 22 lb.
- If you feed wet food → the three Royal Canin thin slices foods here (Large Puppy, Medium Puppy and X-Small Puppy) are wet; check the maker's page for stock before you plan around them.
Didn't find a fit?
See puppy foods for large dogs in the finder, or puppy foods for small dogs. The dog food buying guide explains the large size phrase and how our Large band differs from the label's 70 lb threshold.
How these were chosen
These are the puppy foods in our finder with a growth statement that includes growth of large size dogs. Foods with an all-life-stages statement that includes it are in the finder but not on this list. A statement that says "except for" is left out, and a name that contains "Puppy" is not read as a growth statement. 22 puppy foods are in the finder as of October 2026, and we count every food once, not every bag size.
We compare what the label and the maker state. We give no feeding or veterinary advice. If your dog has a health condition, ask your vet.
Written with AI assistance from manufacturer specifications; reviewed and approved by the site owner. We don't test products hands-on. How we choose.
Written with AI assistance from manufacturer specifications and reviewed before publishing in October 2026. We don't test products hands-on.