Dog foods for small adult and older dogs (2026)

Take our 30-second guide

5 questions, one tap each.

Foods the maker names for small or extra-small breed dogs, with an adult maintenance statement; two are named for older small dogs. "Small" is our band, under about 20 lb as an adult. Listed alphabetically by maker, then by name; this is not a ranking. Specs checked October 28, 2026 on each maker's US site.

Selection criteria

  • The label's statement is for adult maintenance.
  • The maker names the food for small or extra-small breed dogs.

Specs checked on each maker's page.

Compare these foods

The picks

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

✓ matches · – doesn't match · ? not stated by the maker · n/a doesn't apply

  1. Blue Buffalo Life Protection Formula Small Breed Adult Chicken & Brown Rice

    1. Complete and balanced forAdult maintenance
    2. Growth of large size dogs (70 lb. or more as an adult)Does not apply to Adult maintenance
    3. Basis of the statementFormulated to meet AAFCO profiles
    4. Calories398 kcal
    5. Crude protein, min26%
    6. Bag or pack size, linkedNot stated: Not stated by Blue Buffalo
    7. First animal ingredientNot stated: Not stated by Blue Buffalo
    8. Adult weight, per makerNot stated: Not stated by Blue Buffalo

    Blue Buffalo's statement names this recipe for small breed adult dogs and covers adult maintenance.

    Not sold on Blue Buffalo's US store · checked

    Amazon's price may differ.

    See more

    Maker source: bluebuffalo.com

  2. Diamond Naturals Small Breed Adult Chicken & Rice

    1. Complete and balanced forAdult maintenance
    2. Growth of large size dogs (70 lb. or more as an adult)Does not apply to Adult maintenance
    3. Basis of the statementFormulated to meet AAFCO profiles
    4. Calories418 kcal
    5. Crude protein, min27%
    6. Bag or pack size, linkedNot stated: Not stated by Diamond Naturals
    7. First animal ingredientChicken
    8. Adult weight, per makerNot stated: Not stated by Diamond Naturals

    Diamond Naturals names this food for small or extra-small breed dogs, and its statement is for adult maintenance.

    Not sold on Diamond Naturals' US store · checked

    Amazon's price may differ.

    See more

    Maker source: diamondpet.com

  3. Hill's Science Diet Adult Small & Mini

    1. Complete and balanced forAdult maintenance
    2. Growth of large size dogs (70 lb. or more as an adult)Does not apply to Adult maintenance
    3. Basis of the statementAAFCO feeding tests
    4. Calories358 kcal
    5. Crude protein, min20.5%
    6. Bag or pack size, linked15.5 lb
    7. First animal ingredientChicken
    8. Adult weight, per makerNot stated: Not stated by Hill's Science Diet

    Hill's Science Diet names this food for small or extra-small breed dogs, and its statement is for adult maintenance.

    $60.99

    at Hill's Science Diet's store · checked

    Amazon's price may differ.

    See more

    Maker source: shop.hillspet.com

  4. Royal Canin Small Adult

    1. Complete and balanced forAdult maintenance
    2. Growth of large size dogs (70 lb. or more as an adult)Does not apply to Adult maintenance
    3. Basis of the statementFormulated to meet AAFCO profiles
    4. Calories359 kcal
    5. Crude protein, min25%
    6. Bag or pack size, linked14 lb
    7. First animal ingredientChicken
    8. Adult weight, per makerNot stated: Not stated by Royal Canin

    Royal Canin names this food for small or extra-small breed dogs, and its statement is for adult maintenance.

    $59.99

    at Royal Canin's store · checked

    Amazon's price may differ.

    See more

    Maker source: royalcanin.com

  5. Royal Canin Small Aging 12+

    1. Complete and balanced forAdult maintenance
    2. Growth of large size dogs (70 lb. or more as an adult)Does not apply to Adult maintenance
    3. Basis of the statementFormulated to meet AAFCO profiles
    4. Calories308 kcal
    5. Crude protein, min24%
    6. Bag or pack size, linked12 lb
    7. First animal ingredientChicken
    8. Adult weight, per makerup to 22 lb

    Royal Canin Small Aging 12+ is named for senior small breed dogs over 12 years old, up to 22 lb, with a maintenance statement.

    $65.99

    at Royal Canin's store · checked

    Amazon's price may differ.

    See more

    Maker source: royalcanin.com

  6. Royal Canin Small Indoor Adult

    1. Complete and balanced forAdult maintenance
    2. Growth of large size dogs (70 lb. or more as an adult)Does not apply to Adult maintenance
    3. Basis of the statementFormulated to meet AAFCO profiles
    4. Calories354 kcal
    5. Crude protein, min19%
    6. Bag or pack size, linked2.5 lb
    7. First animal ingredientChicken
    8. Adult weight, per maker9–22 lb

    Royal Canin names this food for small or extra-small breed dogs, and its statement is for adult maintenance.

    $19.99

    at Royal Canin's store · checked

    Amazon's price may differ.

    See more

    Maker source: royalcanin.com

  7. Royal Canin X-Small Adult

    1. Complete and balanced forAdult maintenance
    2. Growth of large size dogs (70 lb. or more as an adult)Does not apply to Adult maintenance
    3. Basis of the statementFormulated to meet AAFCO profiles
    4. Calories369 kcal
    5. Crude protein, min22%
    6. Bag or pack size, linked14 lb
    7. First animal ingredientChicken
    8. Adult weight, per makerup to 8 lb

    Royal Canin X-Small Adult is named for dogs up to 8 lb, 10 months to 8 years old.

    $59.99

    at Royal Canin's store · checked

    Amazon's price may differ.

    See more

    Maker source: royalcanin.com

  8. Royal Canin X-Small Aging 12+

    1. Complete and balanced forAdult maintenance
    2. Growth of large size dogs (70 lb. or more as an adult)Does not apply to Adult maintenance
    3. Basis of the statementFormulated to meet AAFCO profiles
    4. Calories343 kcal
    5. Crude protein, min22%
    6. Bag or pack size, linked2.5 lb
    7. First animal ingredientChicken
    8. Adult weight, per makerup to 8 lb

    Royal Canin X-Small Aging 12+ is named for senior, very small breed dogs up to 8 lb, over 12 years old.

    $23.99

    at Royal Canin's store · checked

    Amazon's price may differ.

    See more

    Maker source: royalcanin.com

Not sure which one?

Answer a few questions and see the dog foods that match your answers.

Take our 30-second guide

5 questions, one tap each.

Compare these foods

Each value is what the manufacturer states on the linked page. "Not stated" means we have no figure from the maker's page for this food.

Compare these foods
FoodComplete and balanced forGrowth of large size dogs (70 lb. or more as an adult)CaloriesCrude protein, min
Blue Buffalo Life Protection Formula Small Breed Adult Chicken & Brown RiceAdult maintenanceNot stated398 kcal per cup26.0%
Diamond Naturals Small Breed Adult Chicken & RiceAdult maintenanceNot stated418 kcal per cup27.0%
Hill's Science Diet Adult Small & MiniAdult maintenanceNot stated358 kcal per cup20.5%
Royal Canin Small AdultAdult maintenanceNot stated359 kcal per cup25.0%
Royal Canin Small Aging 12+Adult maintenanceNot stated308 kcal per cup24.0%
Royal Canin Small Indoor AdultAdult maintenanceNot stated354 kcal per cup19.0%
Royal Canin X-Small AdultAdult maintenanceNot stated369 kcal per cup22.0%
Royal Canin X-Small Aging 12+Adult maintenanceNot stated343 kcal per cup22.0%

Calories are per cup for dry food, as each label states.

How to pick between these

  • If your dog is over 12 years old → the Royal Canin Small Aging 12+ and X-Small Aging 12+ are named for that age.
  • If your dog is up to 8 lb → the Royal Canin X-Small Adult and X-Small Aging 12+ state that weight.
  • If you want a recipe from a maker other than Royal Canin → Blue Buffalo, Hill's and the Diamond Naturals Small Breed Adult Chicken & Rice each have a small breed recipe here.

Didn't find a fit?

See adult foods for small dogs in the finder. The dog food buying guide explains how we read size and older-dog wording.

How these were chosen

These are the foods in our finder that the maker names for small or extra-small breed dogs only, with an adult maintenance statement. 16 adult foods for small dogs are in the finder as of October 2026, which also includes foods whose maker names every breed size.

We compare what the label and the maker state. We give no feeding or veterinary advice. If your dog has a health condition, ask your vet.

Written with AI assistance from manufacturer specifications; reviewed and approved by the site owner. We don't test products hands-on. How we choose.

Written with AI assistance from manufacturer specifications and reviewed before publishing in October 2026. We don't test products hands-on.

By whichproduct.app · AI-assisted, approved by the site ownerAs an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.We report what each manufacturer states and make no health or safety claims.