Foods whose label states AAFCO feeding tests (2026)

Take our 30-second guide

5 questions, one tap each.

Every food here has an adequacy statement that says animal feeding tests using AAFCO procedures substantiate complete and balanced nutrition, in the label's own words. That is a fact about how the statement was shown, not a quality ranking. Listed alphabetically by maker, then by name, except that the Purina Pro Plan Puppy Large Breed comes third so the first three are not all one brand; this is not a ranking. Specs checked October 28, 2026 on each maker's US site.

Selection criteria

  • The statement says animal feeding tests using AAFCO procedures substantiate complete and balanced nutrition.

Specs checked on each maker's page.

Compare these foods

The picks

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

✓ matches · – doesn't match · ? not stated by the maker · n/a doesn't apply

  1. Hill's Science Diet Adult 7+ Chicken Meal, Barley & Rice

    1. Complete and balanced forAdult maintenance
    2. Growth of large size dogs (70 lb. or more as an adult)Does not apply to Adult maintenance
    3. Basis of the statementAAFCO feeding tests
    4. Calories352 kcal
    5. Crude protein, min14.6%
    6. Bag or pack size, linked33 lb
    7. First animal ingredientChicken
    8. Adult weight, per makerNot stated: Not stated by Hill's Science Diet

    Hill's Science Diet's statement for this food says animal feeding tests using AAFCO procedures substantiate complete and balanced nutrition.

    $86.99

    at Hill's Science Diet's store · checked

    Amazon's price may differ.

    See more

    Maker source: shop.hillspet.com

  2. Hill's Science Diet Adult Chicken & Barley

    1. Complete and balanced forAdult maintenance
    2. Growth of large size dogs (70 lb. or more as an adult)Does not apply to Adult maintenance
    3. Basis of the statementAAFCO feeding tests
    4. Calories365 kcal
    5. Crude protein, min19%
    6. Bag or pack size, linked35 lb
    7. First animal ingredientChicken
    8. Adult weight, per makerNot stated: Not stated by Hill's Science Diet

    Hill's Science Diet's statement for this food says animal feeding tests using AAFCO procedures substantiate complete and balanced nutrition.

    $86.99

    at Hill's Science Diet's store · checked

    Amazon's price may differ.

    See more

    Maker source: shop.hillspet.com

  3. Purina Pro Plan Puppy Large Breed Chicken & Rice

    1. Complete and balanced forAll life stages
    2. Growth of large size dogs (70 lb. or more as an adult)Included
    3. Basis of the statementAAFCO feeding tests
    4. Calories419 kcal
    5. Crude protein, min28%
    6. Bag or pack size, linked34 lb
    7. First animal ingredientChicken
    8. Adult weight, per makerNot stated: Not stated by Purina Pro Plan

    Purina Pro Plan's statement for this food says animal feeding tests using AAFCO procedures substantiate complete and balanced nutrition.

    $74.98

    at Purina Pro Plan's store · checked

    Amazon's price may differ.

    See more

    Maker source: shop.purina.com

  4. Hill's Science Diet Adult Large Breed Chicken & Barley

    1. Complete and balanced forAdult maintenance
    2. Growth of large size dogs (70 lb. or more as an adult)Does not apply to Adult maintenance
    3. Basis of the statementAAFCO feeding tests
    4. CaloriesNot stated: Not stated by Hill's Science Diet
    5. Crude protein, minNot stated: Not stated by Hill's Science Diet
    6. Bag or pack size, linked35 lb
    7. First animal ingredientNot stated: Not stated by Hill's Science Diet
    8. Adult weight, per makerNot stated: Not stated by Hill's Science Diet

    Hill's Science Diet's statement for this food says animal feeding tests using AAFCO procedures substantiate complete and balanced nutrition.

    $86.99

    at Hill's Science Diet's store · checked

    Amazon's price may differ.

    See more

    Maker source: shop.hillspet.com

  5. Hill's Science Diet Adult Small & Mini

    1. Complete and balanced forAdult maintenance
    2. Growth of large size dogs (70 lb. or more as an adult)Does not apply to Adult maintenance
    3. Basis of the statementAAFCO feeding tests
    4. Calories358 kcal
    5. Crude protein, min20.5%
    6. Bag or pack size, linked15.5 lb
    7. First animal ingredientChicken
    8. Adult weight, per makerNot stated: Not stated by Hill's Science Diet

    Hill's Science Diet's statement for this food says animal feeding tests using AAFCO procedures substantiate complete and balanced nutrition.

    $60.99

    at Hill's Science Diet's store · checked

    Amazon's price may differ.

    See more

    Maker source: shop.hillspet.com

  6. Hill's Science Diet Adult Small Bites Lamb Meal & Brown Rice

    1. Complete and balanced forAdult maintenance
    2. Growth of large size dogs (70 lb. or more as an adult)Does not apply to Adult maintenance
    3. Basis of the statementAAFCO feeding tests
    4. Calories369 kcal
    5. Crude protein, min19%
    6. Bag or pack size, linked33 lb
    7. First animal ingredientLamb
    8. Adult weight, per makerNot stated: Not stated by Hill's Science Diet

    Hill's Science Diet's statement for this food says animal feeding tests using AAFCO procedures substantiate complete and balanced nutrition.

    $89.99

    at Hill's Science Diet's store · checked

    Amazon's price may differ.

    See more

    Maker source: shop.hillspet.com

  7. Hill's Science Diet Puppy Large Breed Chicken & Brown Rice

    1. Complete and balanced forGrowth
    2. Growth of large size dogs (70 lb. or more as an adult)Not stated: Not stated by Hill's Science Diet
    3. Basis of the statementAAFCO feeding tests
    4. CaloriesNot stated: Not stated by Hill's Science Diet
    5. Crude protein, minNot stated: Not stated by Hill's Science Diet
    6. Bag or pack size, linked27.5 lb
    7. First animal ingredientNot stated: Not stated by Hill's Science Diet
    8. Adult weight, per makerNot stated: Not stated by Hill's Science Diet

    Hill's Science Diet's statement for this food says animal feeding tests using AAFCO procedures substantiate complete and balanced nutrition.

    $78.99

    at Hill's Science Diet's store · checked

    Amazon's price may differ.

    See more

    Maker source: shop.hillspet.com

  8. Hill's Science Diet Puppy Large Breed Lamb Meal & Brown Rice

    1. Complete and balanced forGrowth
    2. Growth of large size dogs (70 lb. or more as an adult)Not stated: Not stated by Hill's Science Diet
    3. Basis of the statementAAFCO feeding tests
    4. Calories382 kcal
    5. Crude protein, min23%
    6. Bag or pack size, linked30 lb
    7. First animal ingredientLamb
    8. Adult weight, per makerNot stated: Not stated by Hill's Science Diet

    Hill's Science Diet's statement for this food says animal feeding tests using AAFCO procedures substantiate complete and balanced nutrition.

    $86.99

    at Hill's Science Diet's store · checked

    Amazon's price may differ.

    See more

    Maker source: shop.hillspet.com

  9. Purina Pro Plan Puppy Small Breed

    1. Complete and balanced forAll life stages
    2. Growth of large size dogs (70 lb. or more as an adult)Included
    3. Basis of the statementAAFCO feeding tests
    4. Calories482 kcal
    5. Crude protein, min33%
    6. Bag or pack size, linked18 lb
    7. First animal ingredientChicken
    8. Adult weight, per makerNot stated: Not stated by Purina Pro Plan

    Purina Pro Plan's statement for this food says animal feeding tests using AAFCO procedures substantiate complete and balanced nutrition.

    $52.98

    at Purina Pro Plan's store · checked

    Amazon's price may differ.

    See more

    Maker source: shop.purina.com

Not sure which one?

Answer a few questions and see the dog foods that match your answers.

Take our 30-second guide

5 questions, one tap each.

Compare these foods

Each value is what the manufacturer states on the linked page. "Not stated" means we have no figure from the maker's page for this food.

Compare these foods
FoodComplete and balanced forGrowth of large size dogs (70 lb. or more as an adult)CaloriesCrude protein, min
Hill's Science Diet Adult 7+ Chicken Meal, Barley & RiceAdult maintenanceNot stated352 kcal per cup14.6%
Hill's Science Diet Adult Chicken & BarleyAdult maintenanceNot stated365 kcal per cup19.0%
Purina Pro Plan Puppy Large Breed Chicken & RiceAll life stagesIncluded419 kcal per cup28.0%
Hill's Science Diet Adult Large Breed Chicken & BarleyAdult maintenanceNot statedNot statedNot stated
Hill's Science Diet Adult Small & MiniAdult maintenanceNot stated358 kcal per cup20.5%
Hill's Science Diet Adult Small Bites Lamb Meal & Brown RiceAdult maintenanceNot stated369 kcal per cup19.0%
Hill's Science Diet Puppy Large Breed Chicken & Brown RiceGrowthNot statedNot statedNot stated
Hill's Science Diet Puppy Large Breed Lamb Meal & Brown RiceGrowthNot stated382 kcal per cup23.0%
Purina Pro Plan Puppy Small BreedAll life stagesIncluded482 kcal per cup33.0%

All nine are dry foods, so calories are per cup.

How to pick between these

  • If you want a puppy food with this statement → the Hill's Science Diet Puppy Large Breed foods and the two Purina Pro Plan puppy foods here.
  • If you want an adult food with this statement → the Hill's Science Diet adult foods here, one of which is named for older dogs (Adult 7+).
  • If you want a maker other than Hill's → the Purina Pro Plan Puppy Large Breed and Puppy Small Breed are the two here.

Didn't find a fit?

See puppy foods or adult foods in the finder; each card shows the basis of the statement. The dog food buying guide explains the three statement formats.

How these were chosen

These are all the foods in our finder, as of October 2026, whose adequacy statement says animal feeding tests using AAFCO procedures substantiate the nutrition. The statement basis says how adequacy was shown. It does not make one food better than another, and we do not filter by it in the finder.

We compare what the label and the maker state. We give no feeding or veterinary advice. If your dog has a health condition, ask your vet.

Written with AI assistance from manufacturer specifications; reviewed and approved by the site owner. We don't test products hands-on. How we choose.

Written with AI assistance from manufacturer specifications and reviewed before publishing in October 2026. We don't test products hands-on.

By whichproduct.app · AI-assisted, approved by the site ownerAs an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.We report what each manufacturer states and make no health or safety claims.