Dog foods the maker names for older dogs (2026)

Take our 30-second guide

5 questions, one tap each.

Foods whose maker calls them senior, mature or aging, each with an adult maintenance statement. We read the maker's word, not an age we choose. Listed alphabetically by maker, then by name; this is not a ranking. Specs checked October 28, 2026 on each maker's US site.

Selection criteria

  • The label's statement is for adult maintenance.
  • The maker names the food senior, mature or aging.

Specs checked on each maker's page.

Compare these foods

The picks

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

✓ matches · – doesn't match · ? not stated by the maker · n/a doesn't apply

  1. Hill's Science Diet Adult 7+ Chicken Meal, Barley & Rice

    1. Complete and balanced forAdult maintenance
    2. Growth of large size dogs (70 lb. or more as an adult)Does not apply to Adult maintenance
    3. Basis of the statementAAFCO feeding tests
    4. Calories352 kcal
    5. Crude protein, min14.6%
    6. Bag or pack size, linked33 lb
    7. First animal ingredientChicken
    8. Adult weight, per makerNot stated: Not stated by Hill's Science Diet

    Hill's Science Diet's page is headed "Senior 7+ Dog Food", and its statement is for adult maintenance.

    $86.99

    at Hill's Science Diet's store · checked

    Amazon's price may differ.

    See more

    Maker source: shop.hillspet.com

  2. Orijen Senior

    1. Complete and balanced forAdult maintenance
    2. Growth of large size dogs (70 lb. or more as an adult)Does not apply to Adult maintenance
    3. Basis of the statementFormulated to meet AAFCO profiles
    4. Calories427 kcal
    5. Crude protein, min38%
    6. Bag or pack size, linkedNot stated: Not stated by Orijen
    7. First animal ingredientChicken
    8. Adult weight, per makerNot stated: Not stated by Orijen

    Orijen's name for this food (Senior) marks it for older dogs, and its statement is for adult maintenance.

    Not sold on Orijen's US store · checked

    Amazon's price may differ.

    See more

    Maker source: orijenpetfoods.com

  3. Purina Pro Plan Bright Mind Adult 7+ Beef & Brown Rice Entree

    1. Complete and balanced forAdult maintenance
    2. Growth of large size dogs (70 lb. or more as an adult)Does not apply to Adult maintenance
    3. Basis of the statementFormulated to meet AAFCO profiles
    4. Calories294 kcal
    5. Crude protein, min12%
    6. Bag or pack size, linked80 oz
    7. First animal ingredientNot stated: Not stated by Purina Pro Plan
    8. Adult weight, per makerNot stated: Not stated by Purina Pro Plan

    Purina's page names this wet food Bright Mind Adult 7+ and calls it a senior dog food.

    $31.76

    at Purina Pro Plan's store · checked

    Amazon's price may differ.

    See more

    Maker source: shop.purina.com

  4. Royal Canin Large Aging 8+

    1. Complete and balanced forAdult maintenance
    2. Growth of large size dogs (70 lb. or more as an adult)Does not apply to Adult maintenance
    3. Basis of the statementFormulated to meet AAFCO profiles
    4. Calories308 kcal
    5. Crude protein, min25%
    6. Bag or pack size, linked30 lb
    7. First animal ingredientChicken
    8. Adult weight, per maker56–100 lb

    Royal Canin Large Aging 8+ is named for senior large breed dogs of 56 to 100 lb over 8 years old.

    $109.99

    at Royal Canin's store · checked

    Amazon's price may differ.

    See more

    Maker source: royalcanin.com

  5. Royal Canin Medium Adult 7+

    1. Complete and balanced forAdult maintenance
    2. Growth of large size dogs (70 lb. or more as an adult)Does not apply to Adult maintenance
    3. Basis of the statementFormulated to meet AAFCO profiles
    4. Calories315 kcal
    5. Crude protein, min23%
    6. Bag or pack size, linked30 lb
    7. First animal ingredientChicken
    8. Adult weight, per maker23–55 lb

    Royal Canin describes this food as "For mature medium breed dogs", and its statement is for adult maintenance.

    $109.99

    at Royal Canin's store · checked

    Amazon's price may differ.

    See more

    Maker source: royalcanin.com

  6. Royal Canin Medium Aging 10+

    1. Complete and balanced forAdult maintenance
    2. Growth of large size dogs (70 lb. or more as an adult)Does not apply to Adult maintenance
    3. Basis of the statementFormulated to meet AAFCO profiles
    4. Calories290 kcal
    5. Crude protein, min24%
    6. Bag or pack size, linked30 lb
    7. First animal ingredientChicken
    8. Adult weight, per makerNot stated: Not stated by Royal Canin

    Royal Canin's name for this food (Aging 10+) marks it for older dogs, and its statement is for adult maintenance.

    $109.99

    at Royal Canin's store · checked

    Amazon's price may differ.

    See more

    Maker source: royalcanin.com

  7. Royal Canin Small Aging 12+

    1. Complete and balanced forAdult maintenance
    2. Growth of large size dogs (70 lb. or more as an adult)Does not apply to Adult maintenance
    3. Basis of the statementFormulated to meet AAFCO profiles
    4. Calories308 kcal
    5. Crude protein, min24%
    6. Bag or pack size, linked12 lb
    7. First animal ingredientChicken
    8. Adult weight, per makerup to 22 lb

    Royal Canin Small Aging 12+ is named for senior small breed dogs over 12 years old, up to 22 lb.

    $65.99

    at Royal Canin's store · checked

    Amazon's price may differ.

    See more

    Maker source: royalcanin.com

  8. Royal Canin X-Small Aging 12+

    1. Complete and balanced forAdult maintenance
    2. Growth of large size dogs (70 lb. or more as an adult)Does not apply to Adult maintenance
    3. Basis of the statementFormulated to meet AAFCO profiles
    4. Calories343 kcal
    5. Crude protein, min22%
    6. Bag or pack size, linked2.5 lb
    7. First animal ingredientChicken
    8. Adult weight, per makerup to 8 lb

    Royal Canin X-Small Aging 12+ is named for senior, very small breed dogs up to 8 lb, over 12 years old.

    $23.99

    at Royal Canin's store · checked

    Amazon's price may differ.

    See more

    Maker source: royalcanin.com

Not sure which one?

Answer a few questions and see the dog foods that match your answers.

Take our 30-second guide

5 questions, one tap each.

Compare these foods

Each value is what the manufacturer states on the linked page. "Not stated" means we have no figure from the maker's page for this food.

Compare these foods
FoodComplete and balanced forGrowth of large size dogs (70 lb. or more as an adult)CaloriesCrude protein, min
Hill's Science Diet Adult 7+ Chicken Meal, Barley & RiceAdult maintenanceNot stated352 kcal per cup14.6%
Orijen SeniorAdult maintenanceNot stated427 kcal per cup38.0%
Purina Pro Plan Bright Mind Adult 7+ Beef & Brown Rice EntreeAdult maintenanceNot stated294 kcal per can12.0%
Royal Canin Large Aging 8+Adult maintenanceNot stated308 kcal per cup25.0%
Royal Canin Medium Adult 7+Adult maintenanceNot stated315 kcal per cup23.0%
Royal Canin Medium Aging 10+Adult maintenanceNot stated290 kcal per cup24.0%
Royal Canin Small Aging 12+Adult maintenanceNot stated308 kcal per cup24.0%
Royal Canin X-Small Aging 12+Adult maintenanceNot stated343 kcal per cup22.0%

Purina's food is wet, so its calories are per can; the others are dry, per cup.

How to pick between these

  • If your dog weighs 56 lb or more → the Royal Canin Large Aging 8+ is the one here that states that range.
  • If your dog is small and over 12 years old → the Royal Canin Small Aging 12+ and X-Small Aging 12+ state that age.
  • If your dog weighs 23 to 55 lb → the Royal Canin Medium Adult 7+ states that range; its page, and the Medium Aging 10+ page, showed the food out of stock on October 28, 2026.
  • If you want a food that is not named for one size → the Hill's Science Diet Adult 7+ and the Orijen Senior are foods that name every breed size.
  • If you want wet food → the Purina Bright Mind Adult 7+ is the wet food on this list.

Didn't find a fit?

The dog food finder shows every adult food; choose the older-dogs preference to move these first. The dog food buying guide explains how we read age words.

How these were chosen

These are the foods in our finder that the maker names senior, mature or aging. 8 dog foods in the finder are named for older dogs as of October 2026; a senior food also shows for adult dogs because its statement is for adult maintenance.

We compare what the label and the maker state. We give no feeding or veterinary advice. If your dog has a health condition, ask your vet.

Written with AI assistance from manufacturer specifications; reviewed and approved by the site owner. We don't test products hands-on. How we choose.

Written with AI assistance from manufacturer specifications and reviewed before publishing in October 2026. We don't test products hands-on.

By whichproduct.app · AI-assisted, approved by the site ownerAs an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.We report what each manufacturer states and make no health or safety claims.