Dog foods for large adult dogs (2026)
Foods the maker names for large breed dogs, each with an adequacy statement for adult maintenance; one is named for older large dogs. "Large" is our band, about 50 lb or more as an adult; the label's own large size threshold is 70 lb. Listed alphabetically by maker, then by name; this is not a ranking. Specs checked October 28, 2026 on each maker's US site.
Selection criteria
- The label's statement is for adult maintenance.
- The maker names the food for large breed dogs.
Specs checked on each maker's page.
The picks
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
✓ matches · – doesn't match · ? not stated by the maker · n/a doesn't apply
Blue Buffalo Life Protection Formula Large Breed Adult Chicken & Brown Rice
- Complete and balanced forAdult maintenance
- Growth of large size dogs (70 lb. or more as an adult)Does not apply to Adult maintenance
- Basis of the statementFormulated to meet AAFCO profiles
- Calories355 kcal
- Crude protein, min22%
- Bag or pack size, linkedNot stated: Not stated by Blue Buffalo
- First animal ingredientChicken
- Adult weight, per makerNot stated: Not stated by Blue Buffalo
Blue Buffalo's statement names this recipe for large breed adult dogs and covers adult maintenance.
Maker source: bluebuffalo.com
Diamond Naturals Large Breed Adult Chicken & Rice
- Complete and balanced forAdult maintenance
- Growth of large size dogs (70 lb. or more as an adult)Does not apply to Adult maintenance
- Basis of the statementFormulated to meet AAFCO profiles
- Calories397 kcal
- Crude protein, min23%
- Bag or pack size, linkedNot stated: Not stated by Diamond Naturals
- First animal ingredientChicken
- Adult weight, per makerNot stated: Not stated by Diamond Naturals
Diamond Naturals names this food for large breed dogs, and its statement is for adult maintenance.
Maker source: diamondpet.com
Hill's Science Diet Adult Large Breed Chicken & Barley
- Complete and balanced forAdult maintenance
- Growth of large size dogs (70 lb. or more as an adult)Does not apply to Adult maintenance
- Basis of the statementAAFCO feeding tests
- CaloriesNot stated: Not stated by Hill's Science Diet
- Crude protein, minNot stated: Not stated by Hill's Science Diet
- Bag or pack size, linked35 lb
- First animal ingredientNot stated: Not stated by Hill's Science Diet
- Adult weight, per makerNot stated: Not stated by Hill's Science Diet
Hill's Science Diet Adult Large Breed carries a feeding-test statement for adult maintenance and its page lists the breed size as Large.
Maker source: shop.hillspet.com
Royal Canin Large Adult
- Complete and balanced forAdult maintenance
- Growth of large size dogs (70 lb. or more as an adult)Does not apply to Adult maintenance
- Basis of the statementFormulated to meet AAFCO profiles
- Calories360 kcal
- Crude protein, min24%
- Bag or pack size, linked30 lb
- First animal ingredientChicken
- Adult weight, per maker56–100 lb
Royal Canin Large Adult states a 56 to 100 lb adult weight range and an adult maintenance statement.
Maker source: royalcanin.com
Royal Canin Large Aging 8+
- Complete and balanced forAdult maintenance
- Growth of large size dogs (70 lb. or more as an adult)Does not apply to Adult maintenance
- Basis of the statementFormulated to meet AAFCO profiles
- Calories308 kcal
- Crude protein, min25%
- Bag or pack size, linked30 lb
- First animal ingredientChicken
- Adult weight, per maker56–100 lb
Royal Canin Large Aging 8+ is named for senior large breed dogs of 56 to 100 lb over 8 years old, with an adult maintenance statement.
Maker source: royalcanin.com
Not sure which one?
Answer a few questions and see the dog foods that match your answers.
Compare these foods
Each value is what the manufacturer states on the linked page. "Not stated" means we have no figure from the maker's page for this food.
| Food | Complete and balanced for | Growth of large size dogs (70 lb. or more as an adult) | Calories | Crude protein, min |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Blue Buffalo Life Protection Formula Large Breed Adult Chicken & Brown Rice | Adult maintenance | Not stated | 355 kcal per cup | 22.0% |
| Diamond Naturals Large Breed Adult Chicken & Rice | Adult maintenance | Not stated | 397 kcal per cup | 23.0% |
| Hill's Science Diet Adult Large Breed Chicken & Barley | Adult maintenance | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Royal Canin Large Adult | Adult maintenance | Not stated | 360 kcal per cup | 24.0% |
| Royal Canin Large Aging 8+ | Adult maintenance | Not stated | 308 kcal per cup | 25.0% |
Calories are per cup for dry food, as each label states.
How to pick between these
- If you want a stated weight range → Royal Canin Large Adult and Large Aging 8+ print 56 to 100 lb.
- If you want the statement to name animal feeding tests → Hill's Science Diet Adult Large Breed is the one here.
- If you want a recipe from a maker other than Blue Buffalo, Hill's and Royal Canin → the Diamond Naturals Large Breed Adult Chicken & Rice is the one here.
- If your dog is over 8 years old → the Royal Canin Large Aging 8+ is named for that age.
Didn't find a fit?
See adult foods for large dogs in the finder. The dog food buying guide explains the adequacy statement.
How these were chosen
These are the foods in our finder that the maker names for large breed dogs only, with an adult maintenance statement. 13 adult foods for large dogs are in the finder as of October 2026, which also includes foods whose maker names every breed size.
We compare what the label and the maker state. We give no feeding or veterinary advice. If your dog has a health condition, ask your vet.
Written with AI assistance from manufacturer specifications; reviewed and approved by the site owner. We don't test products hands-on. How we choose.
Written with AI assistance from manufacturer specifications and reviewed before publishing in October 2026. We don't test products hands-on.