Vacuum-only robot vacuums for carpet-heavy homes (2026)

Take our 30-second guide

6 questions, one tap each.

For homes that are mostly carpet: robots that only vacuum (no mop to keep off rugs) and come with a dock that empties the dustbin. Ordered by the maker's store price, lowest first. Specs checked October 19, 2026; prices checked October 19–27, 2026 (changed prices re-read October 27) on each manufacturer's US site.

Selection criteria

  • Vacuum only (no mop), as the manufacturer states.
  • Ships with a dock that empties the dustbin, as the manufacturer states.

Compare these robots

The picks

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

✓ matches · – doesn't match · ? not stated by the maker

  1. Shark Matrix Robot Vacuum

    • Robot heightNot stated
    • Mop-washing dockNo
    • Object recognitionNot stated

    Shark says it "empties itself into a bagless, self-emptying base that holds up to 45 days of dirt and debris".

    $329.99

    at Shark's store · checked

    Amazon's price may differ.

    See more

    Maker source: sharkninja.com

  2. SwitchBot K11+

    • Robot heightNot stated
    • Mop-washing dockNo
    • Object recognitionNo

    SwitchBot says its self-emptying station "is smaller than an A4 sheet" and holds a 4 L bag for up to 90 days.

    $399.99

    at SwitchBot's store · checked

    Amazon's price may differ.

    See more

    Maker source: us.switch-bot.com

  3. iRobot Roomba 105 Vac Robot + AutoEmpty Dock

    4.1"Robot height

    • Mop-washing dockNo
    • Object recognitionNot stated

    A vacuum-only Roomba sold with an AutoEmpty dock that iRobot says empties for up to 75 days.

    $449.99

    at iRobot's store · checked

    Amazon's price may differ.

    See more

    Maker source: irobot.com

  4. Dyson R1 Nurovi Dry robot vacuum

    3.8"Robot height

    • Mop-washing dockNo
    • Object recognitionNot stated

    Dyson's vacuum-only R1 Nurovi Dry comes with a self-emptying dock that Dyson says stores debris for up to 90 days; Dyson states a 3.8-inch robot height.

    $549.99

    at Dyson's store · checked

    Amazon's price may differ.

    See more

    Maker source: dyson.com

Not sure which one?

Answer a few questions and see the robot vacuums that match your answers.

Take our 30-second guide

6 questions, one tap each.

Compare these robots

Compare these robots
RobotDockHow long the maker says the dock holds dustObject recognitionRobot heightMaker's store price
Shark MatrixEmpties dust (bagless base)Up to 45 daysNot statedNot statedUnder $400
SwitchBot K11+Empties dust (4 L bag)Up to 90 daysNo (infrared and PSD sensors)Not statedUnder $400
iRobot Roomba 105 Vac + AutoEmpty DockEmpties dust (bag)Up to 75 daysNot stated (LiDAR)4.09 inUnder $500
Dyson R1 Nurovi DryEmpties dustUp to 90 daysNot stated3.8 inUnder $600

Prices are what each maker's own US store charged between October 19 and 27, 2026 (changed prices re-read October 27).

Why vacuum-only

If most of your floors are carpet, a robot that also mops adds a water tank, mop pads and, on many models, a bigger dock that you don't need. Every robot on this list has no mop at all, so there is nothing to keep off your rugs. All four come with a dock that empties the dustbin.

Vacuum-only robots are a small part of the market we catalogued: 4 of 29 robots, all under $600 on their makers' stores. The fifth, the iRobot Roomba Max 715 Vac + AutoEmpty Dock, is the one vacuum-only robot whose maker states object recognition (PrecisionVision AI, which iRobot says responds to "pet waste, cords, socks, and shoes"); we couldn't match it to an exact store listing yet, so it isn't listed here.

How to pick between these

If you want the smallest dock → SwitchBot says the K11+ station "is smaller than an A4 sheet" (about the size of a letter-size sheet of paper) and still holds a 4 L bag.

If you don't want to buy dust bags → Shark says the Matrix "empties itself into a bagless, self-emptying base", so there are no bags to replace. You empty the base bin instead, about every 45 days by Shark's estimate.

If you want the longest time between emptying → SwitchBot (K11+) and Dyson (R1 Nurovi Dry) both state up to 90 days; iRobot states up to 75 days for the Roomba 105 Vac.

If it has to fit under low furniture → Dyson states 3.8 in for the R1 Nurovi Dry and iRobot 4.09 in for the Roomba 105 Vac. Measure the gap under your sofa first.

What a vacuum-only robot won't do

A vacuum-only robot won't wipe up sticky spots or dried spills on hard floors; for kitchens and bathrooms you will still need a mop, by hand or with a separate device. If part of your home is hard floor and you want it mopped too, look at a robot that lifts, covers or detaches its mop on carpet instead (see Robot vacuum-mops that lift, cover or detach the mop on rugs).

None of these four makers claims object recognition for these models: iRobot and Shark describe LiDAR navigation, and SwitchBot lists infrared and PSD sensors. In a home with cords, socks or pet toys on the floor, plan to pick them up before a run. If clutter is the main problem, see Robot vacuums with object recognition for homes with pets and clutter.

Before you buy

  • Check the exact product name. Some makers sell the same robot with a plain charging dock and with a self-emptying dock under nearly the same name (iRobot does this with the Roomba 105 Combo). For these picks, the name should include the self-emptying dock, such as "+ AutoEmpty Dock".
  • Plan for the dock's consumables. iRobot and SwitchBot docks use dust bags you replace; Shark's Matrix base is bagless, so there is a bin to empty instead of a bag to buy.
  • Measure under your furniture. Only iRobot and Dyson state robot heights for the models on this list.

Sources

Specs and prices from each manufacturer's US store, specs checked October 19, 2026; prices checked October 19–27, 2026 (changed prices re-read October 27):

Written with AI assistance from manufacturer specifications; reviewed and approved by the site owner. We don't test products hands-on. How we choose

Written with AI assistance from manufacturer specifications and reviewed before publishing in October 2026. We don't test products hands-on.

By whichproduct.app · AI-assisted, approved by the site ownerAs an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.We report what each manufacturer states and make no health or safety claims.