Compact food processors and mini choppers (2026)
For small kitchens and small households, and for anyone who wants a second machine for herbs, garlic and dressings. Every model here has a largest bowl of 9 cups or less and sells for under $200 on its maker's own US store. Ordered by bowl capacity, then by store price. Specs and prices checked October 20, 2026 on each manufacturer's US site; the Ninja BZ601 and PREPi prices October 27, 2026.
Selection criteria
- Largest work bowl of 9 cups or less, as the manufacturer states it.
- Price on the maker's own US store under $200 (checked October 20, 2026; Ninja October 27, 2026).
The picks
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
✓ matches · – doesn't match · ? not stated by the maker
Hamilton Beach Stack & Snap 4 Cup Food Processor, Chopper & Blender
4 cupsBowl capacity
- Dough bladeNo
- Dishwasher-safe partsYes
- Wide feed chuteNot stated
A 4-cup leak-proof bowl that also takes a reversible slicing and shredding disc, with dishwasher-safe blades, bowl and lid, per Hamilton Beach.
Maker source: hamiltonbeach.com
Braun EasyPrep 4 Cup Chopper
4 cupsBowl capacity
- Dough bladeNot stated
- Dishwasher-safe partsNot stated
- Wide feed chuteNot stated
A 4-cup mini chopper, per Braun, for small chopping jobs.
Maker source: braunhousehold.com
Ninja PREPi 5-in-1 Prep System: Chop, Slice, Crinkle, Shred, Puree in Blue
7 cupsBowl capacity
- Dough bladeNo
- Dishwasher-safe partsNot stated
- Wide feed chuteNot stated
Two bowls (5 and 7 cups) with storage lids, a reversible slice and shred disc and a crinkle cut disc, per Ninja.
Maker source: sharkninja.com
Hamilton Beach 8-Cup Food Processor with 2 Speeds plus Pulse, White
8 cupsBowl capacity
- Dough bladeNo
- Dishwasher-safe partsYes
- Wide feed chuteNo
An 8-cup bowl with a chopping blade and a reversible slicing and shredding disc, all dishwasher safe, per Hamilton Beach.
Maker source: hamiltonbeach.com
Ninja PrecisionPro Food Processor and Dough Mixer
9 cupsBowl capacity
- Dough bladeYes
- Dishwasher-safe partsYes
- Wide feed chuteNot stated
A 9-cup bowl with a chopping blade, a dough blade and a reversible slicing and shredding disc, with dishwasher-safe blades, discs and lids, per Ninja.
Maker source: sharkninja.com
Not sure which one?
Answer a few questions and see the food processors that match your answers.
Compare these models
| Model | Bowl capacity | Slicing disc | Dough blade | Dishwasher-safe parts |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hamilton Beach Stack & Snap 4 Cup Food Processor (70510) | 4 cups | Reversible slice/shred disc | No | Yes |
| Braun EasyPrep 4 Cup Chopper (CH3012BK) | 4 cups | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Ninja PREPi 5-in-1 Prep System (PN301) | 7 cups + 5-cup bowl | Reversible slice and shred disc, crinkle cut disc | No | Not stated |
| Hamilton Beach 8-Cup Food Processor (70450) | 8 cups | Reversible slice/shred disc | No | Yes |
| Ninja PrecisionPro Food Processor and Dough Mixer (BZ601) | 9 cups | Reversible slicing/shredding disc | Yes | Yes |
Values come from the maker pages listed under Sources. "No" means the maker's list of what's in the box has no dough blade; "Not stated" means the maker page doesn't say.
Mini chopper or compact food processor?
A mini chopper has a small bowl and a blade, and it does one job: chop, mince and puree small amounts. You press a button or the lid and it runs. A compact food processor adds a feed chute and a disc, so it can also slice and shred, but takes a little more space. Of the two 4-cup models here, the Braun is a chopper and the Hamilton Beach 70510 is a small processor with a disc.
How to pick between these
- If you only chop herbs, garlic, nuts and onions → the Braun EasyPrep 4 Cup Chopper.
- If you want to slice and shred too, in the smallest machine → the Hamilton Beach Stack & Snap 4 Cup (70510).
- If you want a full-featured first food processor at a low price → the Hamilton Beach 8-Cup (70450): an 8-cup bowl with a slicing and shredding disc.
- If you bake bread or pizza in small batches → the Ninja PrecisionPro (BZ601), the one model here with a dough blade.
- If you like to prep ahead and store food in the bowl → the Ninja PREPi (PN301), with two bowls that take storage lids.
What to expect at this size
- Bowl size. Of the 19 food processors and choppers in our finder, 2 have a bowl of 4 cups or less, 9 have 5 to 9 cups and 8 have 10 cups or more.
- Price. 4 of the 5 models here are under $150 on their maker's store (Ninja prices re-read October 27, 2026); the Ninja PREPi is under $200. We use the price on the maker's own store, which can change.
- Dough. Among the mid-size models in our finder under $200, the Ninja BZ601 is the one with a dough blade; the Hamilton Beach 70450 has none in the box.
- Blender combinations. Ninja also sells blenders with an 8-cup food processor bowl on the same base (Detect Professional and UltraCrush). They are in the finder under mid-size; we left them off this list because they are full blenders as well, and this list is about small, single-purpose machines.
Things to check before you buy
- Counter and cupboard space. The PREPi comes with two bowls and two storage lids, and the 70510, 70450 and BZ601 each add a disc to store. A chopper with one bowl and one blade has the fewest parts.
- What you will slice. If you plan to slice or shred, skip the chopper and pick a model with a disc in the box; four of the five here have one.
- Cleanup. Hamilton Beach and Ninja state that the 70510, 70450 and BZ601 parts are dishwasher safe; Braun and Ninja don't say for the chopper and the PREPi.
Didn't find a fit?
How these were chosen
Of the 19 food processors and choppers in our finder (as of October 22, 2026), 11 have a largest bowl of 9 cups or less, and 6 of those sell for under $200 on their maker's own store; the two 8-cup BLACK+DECKER models have no price on their maker's site, so they cannot meet the price criterion. We picked five that cover each step from a 4-cup chopper to a 9-cup processor with a dough blade, and ordered them by bowl capacity and then by store price. The other one under $200 is a Ninja blender and food processor combination (the UltraCrush), covered in the buying guide; see also how we choose.
Written with AI assistance from manufacturer specifications; reviewed and approved by the site owner. We don't test products hands-on. How we choose
Sources:
Written with AI assistance from manufacturer specifications and reviewed before publishing in October 2026. We don't test products hands-on.