Mesh Wi-Fi with security that needs no subscription (2026)
For people who don't want a monthly or yearly security plan: every system here comes from a maker that states its threat protection needs no additional subscription. In our catalogue that is TP-Link's Deco line and ASUS's ZenWiFi line; eero and NETGEAR sell their security features as subscriptions. Ordered by price on the maker's own US store, lowest first, except that the ASUS ZenWiFi BD4 comes third so the first three are not all one brand.
Selection criteria
- The maker states its security needs no additional subscription.
Specs checked on each maker's page.
The picks
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
✓ matches · – doesn't match · ? not stated by the maker
TP-Link Deco XE75 (2-pack)
5,500 sq ftCoverage for the pack
2 unitsUnits in the pack
- Internet plan speed it is built forNot stated
- Wired backhaul between unitsYes
- Fastest Ethernet port1 Gbps
- Ethernet ports on the main unit3 ports
A TP-Link Deco pack, so TP-Link states HomeShield threat protection with no additional subscription; the XE75 2-pack is rated for 5,500 sq ft.
Maker source: us.store.tapo.com, tp-link.com
TP-Link Deco BE23 (3-pack)
6,500 sq ftCoverage for the pack
3 unitsUnits in the pack
- Internet plan speed it is built forNot stated
- Wired backhaul between unitsYes
- Fastest Ethernet port2.5 Gbps
- Ethernet ports on the main unit2 ports
A Wi-Fi 7 Deco 3-pack rated for 6,500 sq ft, covered by TP-Link's statement that HomeShield needs no additional subscription.
Maker source: us.store.tapo.com, tp-link.com
ASUS ZenWiFi BD4 (3-pack)
6,500 sq ftCoverage for the pack
3 unitsUnits in the pack
- Internet plan speed it is built forNot stated
- Wired backhaul between unitsYes
- Fastest Ethernet port2.5 Gbps
- Ethernet ports on the main unit2 ports
ASUS states its AiProtection security is subscription-free and lists AiProtection Pro for the ZenWiFi BD4; the 3-pack is rated for 6,500 sq ft.
Maker source: eshop.asus.com, asus.com
TP-Link Deco XE75 (3-pack)
7,200 sq ftCoverage for the pack
3 unitsUnits in the pack
- Internet plan speed it is built forNot stated
- Wired backhaul between unitsYes
- Fastest Ethernet port1 Gbps
- Ethernet ports on the main unit3 ports
TP-Link rates the Deco XE75 3-pack for 7,200 sq ft on Wi-Fi 6E, with HomeShield threat protection stated as needing no additional subscription.
Maker source: us.store.tapo.com, tp-link.com
ASUS ZenWiFi BD5 (3-pack)
6,800 sq ftCoverage for the pack
3 unitsUnits in the pack
- Internet plan speed it is built forNot stated
- Wired backhaul between unitsYes
- Fastest Ethernet port2.5 Gbps
- Ethernet ports on the main unit2 ports
The ZenWiFi BD5 3-pack is rated for 6,800 sq ft, with two 2.5G ports per unit and AiProtection, which ASUS states is subscription-free.
Maker source: eshop.asus.com, asus.com
TP-Link Deco BE63 (3-pack)
7,600 sq ftCoverage for the pack
3 unitsUnits in the pack
- Internet plan speed it is built forNot stated
- Wired backhaul between unitsYes
- Fastest Ethernet port2.5 Gbps
- Ethernet ports on the main unit4 ports
The Deco BE63 3-pack is tri-band Wi-Fi 7, rated for 7,600 sq ft, with four 2.5G ports per unit.
Maker source: us.store.tapo.com, tp-link.com
TP-Link Deco BE67 (3-pack)
8,100 sq ftCoverage for the pack
10 GbpsInternet plan speed it is built for
- Units in the pack3 units
- Wired backhaul between unitsYes
- Fastest Ethernet port10 Gbps
- Ethernet ports on the main unit3 ports
The Deco BE67 3-pack is tri-band Wi-Fi 7, rated for 8,100 sq ft, with a 10 Gbps port on each unit.
Maker source: us.store.tapo.com, tp-link.com
ASUS ZenWiFi BT10 (2-pack)
6,000 sq ftCoverage for the pack
2 unitsUnits in the pack
- Internet plan speed it is built forNot stated
- Wired backhaul between unitsYes
- Fastest Ethernet port10 Gbps
- Ethernet ports on the main unit3 ports
The ZenWiFi BT10 2-pack is tri-band Wi-Fi 7, rated for 6,000 sq ft, with a 10G WAN/LAN port and a 10G LAN port on each unit.
Maker source: eshop.asus.com, asus.com
Not sure which one?
Answer a few questions and see the mesh Wi-Fi systems that match your answers.
Compare these systems
Each value is what the manufacturer states on the linked page.
| Model | Coverage for the pack | Units | Wi-Fi standard | Fastest Ethernet port | Wired backhaul |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| TP-Link Deco XE75 (2-pack) | 5,500 sq ft | 2 | Wi-Fi 6E | 1 Gbps | Yes |
| TP-Link Deco BE23 (3-pack) | 6,500 sq ft | 3 | Wi-Fi 7 | 2.5 Gbps | Yes |
| ASUS ZenWiFi BD4 (3-pack) | 6,500 sq ft | 3 | Wi-Fi 7 | 2.5 Gbps | Yes |
| TP-Link Deco XE75 (3-pack) | 7,200 sq ft | 3 | Wi-Fi 6E | 1 Gbps | Yes |
| ASUS ZenWiFi BD5 (3-pack) | 6,800 sq ft | 3 | Wi-Fi 7 | 2.5 Gbps | Yes |
| TP-Link Deco BE63 (3-pack) | 7,600 sq ft | 3 | Wi-Fi 7 | 2.5 Gbps | Yes |
| TP-Link Deco BE67 (3-pack) | 8,100 sq ft | 3 | Wi-Fi 7 | 10 Gbps | Yes |
| ASUS ZenWiFi BT10 (2-pack) | 6,000 sq ft | 2 | Wi-Fi 7 | 10 Gbps | Yes |
Every mesh router works without a subscription: it connects to your modem, makes one network and spreads it across the home. What differs is the extra security layer (blocking known malicious sites, device alerts) and who pays for it. Among the makers we read, TP-Link and ASUS state that their threat protection needs no extra subscription, so every pick here is a TP-Link Deco or ASUS ZenWiFi pack.
What each maker says, in its own words:
- TP-Link: "Every Deco mesh router includes TP-Link HomeShield for real-time threat protection" and keeps the network protected "without requiring additional subscriptions". TP-Link's store also says HomeShield "includes the Free Basic Plan" and that fees apply for the Pro Plan, so some HomeShield features cost extra.
- eero: "Add an eero Plus subscription for Advanced Security, Ad Blocking, Parental Controls" and more.
- NETGEAR: "An optional NETGEAR Armor™ subscription" adds its security features; the Orbi 860 includes a 1-year subscription.
- ASUS: "ASUS AiProtection is a subscription-free, built-in network security solution integrated directly into ASUS routers", and the ZenWiFi BD4, BD5 and BT10 pages each list AiProtection Pro.
- Google: its page describes security features but doesn't state subscription terms, so we list it as not stated.
We don't rate how well any of these protects a network; we only report what each maker says is included.
How to pick between these
- If your home is up to about 5,000 sq ft → the Deco XE75 (2-pack), which TP-Link rates for 5,500 sq ft on Wi-Fi 6E.
- If your home is larger and your plan is 1 Gbps or less → the Deco XE75 (3-pack), rated for 7,200 sq ft, or a Wi-Fi 7 3-pack: the Deco BE23 (6,500 sq ft), the ZenWiFi BD4 (6,500 sq ft) or the ZenWiFi BD5 (6,800 sq ft).
- If your plan is faster than 1 Gbps → the Deco BE23, ZenWiFi BD4 or ZenWiFi BD5 (two 2.5G ports per unit), the Deco BE63 (four 2.5G ports per unit, rated for 7,600 sq ft), the Deco BE67 (a 10 Gbps port per unit, rated for 8,100 sq ft) or the ZenWiFi BT10 (two 10G ports per unit, rated for 6,000 sq ft for the 2-pack).
- If you have Ethernet between rooms → all eight: TP-Link states "Optional Ethernet backhaul" for these Deco models, and ASUS "with wired backhaul options" for the ZenWiFi packs.
Didn't find a fit?
See systems for homes up to 4,000 sq ft under $250 or systems for homes over 4,000 sq ft under $600. In the finder, answer "Yes" to security without a subscription to rank these first. Related lists: Mesh Wi-Fi systems under $250, Wi-Fi 7 mesh systems for homes over 4,000 sq ft, Mesh Wi-Fi with 10 Gbps Ethernet. The mesh Wi-Fi buying guide explains what a mesh subscription adds.
How these were chosen
Of the 26 mesh Wi-Fi systems we catalogued (as of October 20, 2026), 9 come from makers that state their threat protection needs no extra subscription (6 TP-Link, 3 ASUS), 16 from makers that sell security features as a subscription (eero and NETGEAR), and 1 from a maker whose page doesn't say (Google). We picked five of the six TP-Link packs to cover each home size and port speed, and all three ASUS packs; the sixth TP-Link pack, the Deco XE75 (1-pack), rated for 2,900 sq ft, is in the finder. Ordered by the price on the maker's own US store when we checked, lowest first, except that the ASUS ZenWiFi BD4 comes third so the first three are not all one brand; we don't show prices because they change.
Written with AI assistance from manufacturer specifications; reviewed and approved by the site owner. We don't test products hands-on. How we choose
Sources (manufacturer pages, checked October 20, 2026):
- TP-Link Deco XE75 (2-pack)
- TP-Link Deco XE75 (2-pack) store data (price and stock)
- TP-Link Deco XE75 product page (ports and backhaul)
- TP-Link Deco overview (HomeShield statement)
- TP-Link Deco BE23 (3-pack)
- TP-Link Deco BE23 (3-pack) store data (price and stock)
- TP-Link Deco BE23 product page (ports and backhaul)
- TP-Link Deco XE75 (3-pack)
- TP-Link Deco XE75 (3-pack) store data (price and stock)
- TP-Link Deco BE63 (3-pack)
- TP-Link Deco BE63 (3-pack) store data (price and stock)
- TP-Link Deco BE63 product page (ports and backhaul)
- TP-Link Deco BE67 (3-pack)
- TP-Link Deco BE67 (3-pack) store data (price and stock)
- TP-Link Deco BE67 product page (ports and backhaul)
- ASUS AiProtection (subscription statement)
- ASUS ZenWiFi BD4 (3-pack)
- ASUS ZenWiFi BD4 (3-pack) on the ASUS eShop (price and stock)
- ASUS ZenWiFi BD5 (3-pack)
- ASUS ZenWiFi BD5 (3-pack) on the ASUS eShop (price and stock)
- ASUS ZenWiFi BT10 (2-pack)
- ASUS ZenWiFi BT10 (2-pack) on the ASUS eShop (price and stock)
Written with AI assistance from manufacturer specifications and reviewed before publishing in October 2026. We don't test products hands-on.