Wired over-ear headphones under $250 (2026)

Take our 30-second guide

6 questions, one tap each.

For desk listening, home recording and anyone who would rather plug in than charge a battery. Every model here is an over-ear headphone with a cable and no Bluetooth, under $250 on the maker's own US store. Ordered by store price, lowest first. None of these states a microphone, so they suit listening rather than calls. Specs and prices checked October 19, 2026.

Selection criteria

  • Over-ear (cups around the ears), as the manufacturer states.
  • Wired (cable, no Bluetooth).
  • Price on the maker's own US store under $250 (checked October 19, 2026).

Comparison

The picks

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

  1. Koss UR20

    Koss labels it a full-size over-ear headphone with a 3.5mm headphone jack plug, at the lowest store price on this list.

    $24.99

    at Koss' store · checked

    Amazon's price may differ.

    See more

    Maker source: koss.com

  2. Audio-Technica ATH-M20x Professional Studio Monitor Headphones

    Audio-Technica describes a circumaural design that goes around the ears and a 3.0 m straight cable.

    $59.00

    at Audio-Technica's store · checked

    Amazon's price may differ.

    See more

    Maker source: audio-technica.com

  3. Shure SRH240A Professional Quality Headphones

    Shure states a closed-back, circumaural design that rests over the ears and reduces background noise.

    $69.00

    at Shure's store · checked

    Amazon's price may differ.

    See more

    Maker source: shure.com

  4. Audio-Technica ATH-M50x Professional Monitor Headphones

    Audio-Technica states a circumaural design and a gold-plated 3.5 mm connector with strain relief.

    $159.00

    at Audio-Technica's store · checked

    Amazon's price may differ.

    See more

    Maker source: audio-technica.com

  5. Shure SRH840A Professional Monitoring Headphones

    Shure states a closed-back, circumaural design and a detachable locking cable.

    $169.00

    at Shure's store · checked

    Amazon's price may differ.

    See more

    Maker source: shure.com

  6. beyerdynamic DT 770 PRO (80 ohms)

    beyerdynamic states a circumaural design and a straight cable with a 3.5 mm mini-jack plug. This entry is the 80-ohm version.

    $199.99

    at beyerdynamic's store · checked

    Amazon's price may differ.

    See more

    Maker source: north-america.beyerdynamic.com

Not sure which one?

Answer a few questions and see the headphones that match your answers.

Take our 30-second guide

6 questions, one tap each.

Comparison

Comparison
ModelBackCable as statedMicrophonePrice on the maker's store
Koss UR20Not stated3.5mm headphone jack plugNot statedUnder $100
Audio-Technica ATH-M20xNot stated3.0 m straightNot statedUnder $100
Shure SRH240AClosedNot statedNot statedUnder $100
Audio-Technica ATH-M50xNot stated3.5 mm connectorNot statedUnder $250
Shure SRH840AClosedDetachable locking cableNot statedUnder $250
beyerdynamic DT 770 PRO (80 ohms)Not stated3.5 mm mini-jack, straightNot statedUnder $250

"Not stated" means the maker's page does not say. Open-back headphones, which let sound in and out, are not part of this finder.

How to pick between these

  • If you mostly listen at a desk → Audio-Technica ATH-M20x's long cable or Koss UR20.
  • If you want to replace a worn cable later → Shure SRH840A, which Shure says has a detachable locking cable.
  • If you will plug into a phone → check the plug: these use 3.5 mm plugs, so a phone with only USB-C needs an adapter. For beyerdynamic, the maker labels the 32-ohm version for mobile devices; this entry is the 80-ohm version.
  • If you need a microphone for calls → none of these states one; look at wireless models or wired earbuds with a mic instead.

Didn't find a fit?

How these were chosen and sources

Of the 42 headphones we catalogued from manufacturer sites (as of October 19, 2026), 7 are wired over-ear models, and 6 of them are under $250 on the maker's store; all 6 are here. Within the finder, models that fit your answers equally are ordered by how many features their maker states, then by the lower price on the maker's own store, then by a fixed catalogue order. Commissions never affect the order.

Written with AI assistance from manufacturer specifications; reviewed and approved by the site owner. We don't test products hands-on. How we choose.

Sources:

Written with AI assistance from manufacturer specifications and reviewed before publishing in October 2026. We don't test products hands-on.

By whichproduct.app · AI-assisted, approved by the site ownerAs an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.We report what each manufacturer states and make no health or safety claims.