Air purifiers for large rooms (2026)
For living rooms, open-plan spaces and finished basements of about 500 sq ft: every purifier here is rated by its maker for 500 sq ft or more at 4.8 air changes an hour, the basis AHAM uses for its suggested room size, not the much larger one-air-change figure on the box. Ordered by that room size, smallest first; at equal room size, the lower price on the maker's store comes first. Specs checked October 19, 2026 on each manufacturer's US site; the Medify model October 22, 2026 and the Winix 9800 price October 22 and October 27, 2026.
Selection criteria
- Rated for 500 sq ft or more at 4.8 air changes an hour (maker figure, or converted from the maker's 1-air-change figure).
Specs checked on each maker's page.
The picks
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
✓ matches · – doesn't match · ? not stated by the maker
Winix 9800
26.2 dBNoise on the lowest setting
522 sq ftRoom size, maker's rating
- Clean air delivery rateNot stated
- Phone app controlYes
- Carbon filterYes
Winix's AHAM Verified Room Size for the 9800 is 522 sq ft, with a True HEPA filter, an activated carbon filter and the Winix Smart App.
Maker source: winixamerica.com
Blueair Blue Pure 311i+ Max
339 CFMClean air delivery rate
23 dBNoise on the lowest setting
- Phone app controlYes
- Carbon filterYes
- Room size, maker's rating525 sq ft
Blueair's recommended room size for the Blue Pure 311i+ Max is 525 sq ft at 4.8 air changes an hour, with a smoke CADR of 339 CFM and the Blueair app.
Maker source: blueair.com
Levoit EverestAir-P
354 CFMClean air delivery rate
24 dBNoise on the lowest setting
- Phone app controlYes
- Carbon filterNot stated
- Room size, maker's rating549 sq ft
Levoit states 549 sq ft at 4.8 air changes an hour for the EverestAir-P, with a CADR of 354 CFM and the VeSync app.
Maker source: levoit.com
Medify MA-50-V3.0
352 CFMClean air delivery rate
21.2 dBNoise on the lowest setting
- Phone app controlNot stated
- Carbon filterYes
- Room size, maker's rating550 sq ft
Medify states an AHAM-verified 550 sq ft at 4.8 air changes an hour for the MA-50-V3.0, with a smoke CADR of 352 CFM and a pre-filter, HEPA and active carbon filter.
Maker source: medifyair.com
Coway Airmega 350
352 CFMClean air delivery rate
21.5 dBNoise on the lowest setting
- Phone app controlNot stated
- Carbon filterYes
- Room size, maker's rating550 sq ft
Coway states 2,640 sq ft at one air change an hour for the Airmega 350, which is 550 sq ft at 4.8, with a smoke CADR of 352 and a HEPA and activated carbon filter.
Maker source: cowaymega.com
Levoit Core 600S-P
391 CFMClean air delivery rate
26 dBNoise on the lowest setting
- Phone app controlYes
- Carbon filterYes
- Room size, maker's rating606 sq ft
Levoit states 606 sq ft at 4.8 air changes an hour for the Core 600S-P, with a CADR of 391 CFM, the VeSync app and an activated carbon filter.
Maker source: levoit.com
Coway Airmega 450
439 CFMClean air delivery rate
23.6 dBNoise on the lowest setting
- Phone app controlNot stated
- Carbon filterYes
- Room size, maker's rating684 sq ft
Coway states 3,285 sq ft at one air change an hour for the Airmega 450, which is 684 sq ft at 4.8, the largest room size in our catalogue, with a smoke CADR of 439.
Maker source: cowaymega.com
Not sure which one?
Answer a few questions and see the air purifiers that match your answers.
Compare these large-room air purifiers
Each value is what the manufacturer states on the linked page. "Not stated" means the maker's page doesn't list it. Coway room sizes marked * are converted from Coway's one-air-change figure (area / 4.8).
| Model | Room size at 4.8 air changes an hour | Clean air delivery rate | HEPA filter name | Noise on the lowest setting | Phone app control | Carbon filter |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Winix 9800 | 522 sq ft | Not stated | True HEPA | 26.2 dB | Yes | Yes |
| Blueair Blue Pure 311i+ Max | 525 sq ft | 339 CFM (smoke) | HEPASilent | 23 dB | Yes | Yes |
| Levoit EverestAir-P (LAP-EL551S-AUS) | 549 sq ft | 354 CFM | Not stated | 24 dB | Yes | Not stated |
| Medify MA-50-V3.0 | 550 sq ft | 352 CFM (smoke) | HEPA | 21.2 dB | Not stated | Yes |
| Coway Airmega 350 | 550 sq ft* | 352 CFM (smoke) | HEPA | 21.5 dB | Not stated | Yes |
| Levoit Core 600S-P (LAP-C601S-WUS) | 606 sq ft | 391 CFM | HEPA-grade | 26 dB | Yes | Yes |
| Coway Airmega 450 | 684 sq ft* | 439 CFM (smoke) | HEPA | 23.6 dB | Not stated | Yes |
Levoit prints one CADR figure without naming the particle; Coway, Blueair, Winix and Medify name the smoke figure.
How to pick between these
- If you want to stay under $300 → the Blueair Blue Pure 311i+ Max, the Medify MA-50-V3.0 and the Levoit Core 600S-P were the three models here under that ceiling on their makers' stores when we checked. The Core 600S-P has the largest rating of the three.
- If the room is also where you relax or sleep → the Medify MA-50-V3.0 states the lowest noise level here (21.2 dB), followed by the Coway Airmega 350 (21.5 dB) and the Blueair 311i+ Max (23 dB).
- If you want a filter the maker calls True HEPA → the Winix 9800 is the only one on this list.
- If you want app control → choose the Winix 9800, Blueair 311i+ Max, Levoit EverestAir-P or Core 600S-P; the two Coway models and the Medify here don't mention an app.
- If the space is close to 700 sq ft → the Coway Airmega 450 has the largest room size we catalogued.
Didn't find a fit?
See all purifiers rated for 500 sq ft or more in the finder, or only those under $300. Related list: Quiet air purifiers for bedrooms. The air purifier buying guide explains room size and air changes.
How these were chosen
7 of the 31 air purifiers we catalogued (as of October 22, 2026) are rated for 500 sq ft or more at 4.8 air changes an hour, from five brands, and all seven are here. Dates: Medify October 22, 2026; Winix 9800 October 22 and October 27, 2026.
Written with AI assistance from manufacturer specifications; reviewed and approved by the site owner. We don't test products hands-on. How we choose
Sources (manufacturer pages, checked October 19, 2026; Medify October 22, 2026):
Written with AI assistance from manufacturer specifications and reviewed before publishing in October 2026. We don't test products hands-on.